Graduate School of Engineering & Management

School News

View all AFIT news | View EN School news

Science, technology awards recognize AF's sharpest minds
Posted: 09/29/2009 by AFIT Public Affairs

By Julie Imada, Directorate of Research, U.S. Air Force Academy

U.S. AIR FORCE ACADEMY, Colo., -- More than 30 top scientists and research teams were honored at the Air Force Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Awards banquet on Sept. 23 here.

The ceremony was held at the U.S. Air Force Academy in conjunction with the first Air Force Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Conference.

Lt. Gen. Mark D. Shackelford welcomed the many honorees, senior Air Force and Academy leaders and national STEM professionals in attendance. Vice Chief of Staff Gen. Carrol H. “Howie” Chandler delivered the keynote address and helped present the awards. The following is a list of winners in their respective categories.

Air Force Outstanding Scientist Awards

Junior Military Category
Capt. Jeromie L. Shoulders – 49th Test and Evaluation Squadron, Barksdale Air Force Base, La.

Mid-Career Military Category
Capt. Cole W. Gulyas – 83rd Fighter Weapons Squadron, Tyndall AFB, Fla.

Senior Military Category
Lt. Col. Mark A. Foringer – Air Force Directorate of Analysis, Assessments and Lessons Learned, the Pentagon

Junior Civilian Category
Deana C. Nickerson – 59th TES, Nellis AFB, Nev.

Mid-Career Civilian Category
Dr. Timothy J. Haugan – Air Force Research Laboratory, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio

Senior Civilian Category
Bridget A. Brooks – 36th Electronic Warfare Squadron, Eglin AFB, Fla.

Team Category
The Improved Flash-Bang Grenade Team – 711th Human Performance Wing, Brooks City-Base, Texas

Research Management
Winona R. Constable – 711th HPW

John L. McLucas Basic Research Award
Dr. Paul N. Barnes – AFRL, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio

John L. McLucas Basic Research Award – Honorable Mentions
Retired Lt. Col. Leemon C. Baird – U.S. Air Force Academy Department of Computer Science
Dr. Burhan Bayraktaroglu – AFRL, Wright-Patterson AFB
Dr. David B. Doman – AFRL, Wright-Patterson AFB
Dr. John D. Matyjas – AFRL, Rome Laboratory, N.Y.

Cadet Research Awards

  • Geolocation Research Team / AFROTC – Michigan Tech, Illinois Institute of Technology, University of Wisconsin at Madison
  • USAFA SII ACE Cybersecurity Bootcamp – USAFA Department of Computer Science
  • 2nd Lt. Ryan Mudry – 711th HPW, Brooks City-Base, Texas

Air Force Technology Awards

Air Force Research and Development Award
1st Lt. Sean R. Majo – AFRL, Wright-Patterson AFB

Exploratory or Advanced Technology Development Team
AngelFire Science and Technology Team

Exploratory or Advanced Technology Development Individual
Dr. Boris Tomasic – AFRL, Hanscom AFB, Mass.

Manufacturing Technology
Christopher P. Knecht – 547th Propulsion Maintenance Squadron, Tinker AFB, Okla.

Air Force Outstanding Engineer Awards

Junior Military Category
1st Lt. Nicholas J. Battle – 560th Aircraft Sustainment Group, Robins Air Reserve Base, Ga.

Mid-Career Military Category
Capt. Jason V. Paul – Air Force Institute of Technology, Wright-Patterson AFB

Senior Military Category
Lt. Col. Stephen R. Pratt – 36th EWS

Junior Civilian Category
Dylan E. Duplechain – 36th EWS

Mid-Career Civilian Category
Dr. Yong C. Kim – Air Force Institute of Technology

Senior Civilian Category
John C. Brausch – AFRL, Wright-Patterson AFB

Team Category
Rapid Reaction Sq. Engineering Team – Air Force Space Command

Science and Engineering Educator Award
Lt. Col. Adam MacDonald, Air Force Flight Test Center, Edwards AFB, Calif.

AFIT Systems Engineering Award
Cooperative Unmanned Aerial Surveillance Control System Architecture Team

Air Force Science and Engineering Award Engineering Achievement
Maj. Jay Kucko – Air Force Technical Applications Center, Operating Location GT, Cheyenne Mountain Air Force Station, Colo.

Air Force STEM Awards

Dr. Paul G. Kaminski Most Promising Systems Engineer of the Year
Angela Nadem-Mollaei – Cryptologic Systems Group, Lackland AFB, Texas

Gen. Lester L. Lyles Developmental Planning Engineer of the Year
Mr. David L. Owen – Air Force Materiel Command Alternate Space Control Center, Wright-Patterson AFB

Graduate School Home
Graduate School Leadership
About the Graduate School
Faculty Spotlight