Mr. Michael T. Hill Sr., GS-12

ENG Division Chief / Lab Supervisor

Bio Photo


Comm: 937-255-3636 x4610
DSN: 785-3636 x4610
Click to E-mail
View Department

Michael T. Hill Sr., is the Laboratory Division Chief / Supervisor of Computer Science in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the Air Force Institute of Technology (AFIT), Wright-Patterson AFB, OH. His duties include supervision of technicians to support laboratories, faculty, and student’s needs and the ENG department Safety Officer. He has a combined 36 years of supervision experience while working in the military, private sector, DOD NASIC contractor, DOL/OSHA, and DOD/AETC/AFIT.

Additional duties include B644 Building Custodian, Laboratory Contracting Officer Representative Subject Matter Expert (LabCOR/SME), ENG Chemical Hygiene Officer, EN Precious Metals Officer, ENG Equipment Custodian and ENG Unit Software License Manager.

In 1999, he retired from the Air Force as NCOIC of the Radio Maintenance Communication work center, 88th Communications Group, Wright-Patterson AFB, OH. During his Air Force career, he has supported Public Address (PA) setup(s)/CNN live Broadcast for Secretary of State Madeline Albright, Prince Sultan AB (Aug-Oct 1997), WPAFB Command Staff help desk briefing support during the Balkan Proximity Peace Talks (Oct-Nov 1995), HF Presidential Communications, Yokota AB PACAF (1981-84 and 1984-92), Radio Communications and PA setup for five Space Shuttle landings at Edwards AFB, Ca (1983-84).

Prior to joining the AFIT team in July 2014, he was the Department of Labor Occupational Safety and Health Administration (DOL/OSHA) equipment Service Manager, supervising engineers and technicians in calibration support for 100 federal and 200 state OSHA offices.  He also worked as a CSC contractor in support of NASIC and Open Skies, and the private sector for Pioneer Industrial Components as a Production Line Supervisor/technician and Projects Unlimited as an electronics technician building cabling for Tomahawk Cruise Missiles, Refrigerant thermo-relay modules, and Gulfstream Anti-Skid braking Control Modules.


  • Selected as a Primary participant for Air Command and Staff College Online Masters Program (ACSC-OLMP) in AY 2021
  • B.S. (Information Technology Systems Management), Wilberforce University, 2018
  • A.S. (Electronics Technology Systems), Community College of the Air Force, 1999


  • Black Engineer of the Year Award (BEYA) Modern Day Technology Leader, 2020
  • Civilian MLK Humanitarian Award for Significant Contribution to Society, 2019
  • AFIT QIP Team Award, 3rd Qtr., 2017
  • OSHA Outstanding Service, Commitment, Achievement Recognition Award Jul, 2011
  • BP Deep Water Horizon Oil Spill Response Citation, September, 2010
  • CSC/DynCorp Lighting Bolt Achievement Award supporting WPAFB Open Skies, 2005
  • WPAFB Balkan Proximity Peace Talks, Oct-Nov 1995

Community Involvement

  • Huber Heights, City Schools, Wayne High School Parents Advisory Committee
  • AFIT/EN Committee on Diversity & Inclusion
  • WPAFB Prairies Chapel Boys 2 Men Mentor Program
  • Bellefontaine Meadows Homeowners Association Trustee/President (2005 – 2019)


Return to the top of the page

Air Force Institute of Technology
2950 Hobson Way
Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, OH 45433-7765
Commercial: 937-255-6565 | DSN: 785-6565