LTC Edward L. Hobbs

 LTC Hobbs is a decorated U.S. Army officer with an aviation background and holds a BS in Physics, an MS in Nuclear Science (from AFIT), and a PhD in Nuclear Engineering. LTC Hobbs has held many leadership roles in his military career including Joint Planning Augmentation Cell Chief and JTF Joint Planning Group Chief with JTF-Civil Support in Virginia, Nuclear Simulator Branch Chief with DTRA in New Mexico, and Executive Director of the Office of Stystems Engineering and Integration with NNSA in New Mexico. He has specialized in liasing between groups within the Army and Joint Task Forces.

LTC Hobbs' teaching philosphy centers around true mentorship of students and working to contextualize information and deepening students' understanding and skill. He hopes to inspire in his students a committment to lifelong learning.

LTC Hobbs’ awards and decorations include the Defense Meritorious Service Metal (1 oak leaf cluster), the Meritorious Service Medal (1 oak leaf cluster), the Air Medal, the Joint Service Commendation Medal, the Army Commendation Medal (3 oak leaf clusters), the Joint Service Achievement Medal, the Army Achievement Medal, the National Defense Service Medal (1 Star), the Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal, the Global War on Terrorism Service Medal, the Korea Defense Service Medal, the Army Service Ribbon, the Overseas Service Ribbon, the Joint Meritorious Unit Award, the Army Superior Unit Award, the Senior Army Aviator Badge, the Army Parachutist Badge, and the Air Assault Badge.


PhD 2017, University of New Mexico, Nuclear Engineering

MS 2006, Air Force Institute of Technology, Nuclear Science

BS 1995, East Central University, Physics




  • Joint Meritorious Unit Award (2007, 2009)
  • Army Superior Unit Award (1997)
  • Defense Meritorious Service Medal (2012, 2018)
  • Meritorious Service Medal (2004, 2004)
  • Air Medal (2002)
  • Joint Service Commendation Medal (2009)
  • Army Commendation Medal (1999, 2001, 2002, 2004)
  • Joint Service Achievement Medal (2007)
  • Army Achievement Medal (1995)
  • National Defense Service Medal (1990, 2001)
  • Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal (2002)
  • Global War on Terrorism Service Medal (2002)
  • Korean Defense Service Medal (2001)
  • Army Service Ribbon (1995)
  • Overseas Service Ribbon (2001)
  • Senior Army Aviator Badge (2003)
  • Air Assault Badge (1993)
  • Parachutist Badge (1992)


  • AETC Nuclear Deterrence Operations Professional Team of the Year Award (2019)
  • Distinguished Military Graduate (ECU)
  • Academic Achievement (ECU)


 E. L. Hobbs, J. Denton, S. McHale et al. "X-ray Energy Deposition." American Society for Engineering Education. April 2005.

Return to the top of the page

Air Force Institute of Technology
2950 Hobson Way
Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, OH 45433-7765
Commercial: 937-255-6565 | DSN: 785-6565