About the Air Force Institute of Technology

Board of Visitors


Air University (AU), to which the Air Force Institute of Technology (AFIT) reports in the Air Force chain of command, maintains an advisory group under the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act of 1972, as amended, called the Board of Visitors (BOV). Since formal governance of AFIT and AU is via the federal, military chain-of-command, the BOV is unlike governing boards at typical universities.

The BOV is chartered to provide independent advice, views, and recommendations on the education, doctrine, research policies, and activities of AU to the Secretary of Defense and the Deputy Secretary of Defense, through the Secretary of the Air Force (SECAF).

Detailed information on the AU BOV, including the charter, bylaws, meetings dates, and contact information is located here.


AFIT's Board of Visitors (BOV) is a subcommittee of the Air University Board of Visitors. The primary focus of the subcommittee is to provide advice and recommendations to the Board concerning Air Force graduate education programs in engineering and applied science and professional continuing education programs.


The AFIT BOV subcommittee typically meets annually to advise the AFIT Chancellor and Director on policies related to education programs, including accreditation, research, admissions, standards, curricula, instructional methodology, facilities, faculty and other management aspects of the institute.

The AFIT BOV subcommittee provides an annual report of its recommendations and advice to the AU Board for full deliberation and discussion according to the Federal Advisory Committee Act. This report is subsequently incorporated into the AU BOV annual report.

A list of BOV meeting minutes is located here.


The AFIT BOV subcommittee is composed of no more than 9 members who are experts in air power, defense, management, leadership, and academia. Subcommittee members are appointed to a term of service of one-to-four years with annual renewals. Subcommittee members do not serve more than two consecutive terms of service without authorization by the Secretary of Defense or Deputy Secretary of Defense. The Chair of the subcommittee is selected from the members by the Commander of Air University and serves in that role for a one-year term.

A list of AFIT BOV Subcommittee members is located here.