Graduate School of Engineering & Management

School News

View all AFIT news | View EN School news

AFIT Honors 55 Graduates at June 2013 Commencement Ceremony
Posted: 06/26/2013 by AFIT Public Affairs

On 13 June, the Air Force Institute of Technology (AFIT) Graduate School of Engineering and Management held a commencement ceremony awarding 35 Master's and 6 Doctor of Philosophy degrees. On 14 June, 14 Master of Air Mobility degrees were presented to students located at Fort Dix, New Jersey. Degree recipients included 40 Air Force Officers, one Marine Corps Officer, one International Officer from Germany, and 13 civilians.

Mr. Ricky Peters, Executive Director of the Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL), served as the graduation guest speaker. Mr. Peters discussed the importance of building and maintaining relationships throughout a person's career stressing that "No one accomplishes anything solo. In AFRL, we work in research teams…no one goes it alone today. Even if you are a world class researcher …there is a team supporting you…in finance, in contracting, in facilities. You need to build solid relationships with all of these folks - they are the ones that will help you to succeed."

In his welcoming statement, AFIT's Chancellor and Director, Dr. Todd Stewart told the graduating students that their degree from AFIT will establish very high expectations to solve the Air Force's tough problems. "…what has been enduring and most important as a result of my own graduate studies in science is how to think critically, logically, clearly, and to 'do science,' in solving problems and making decisions. In that context, 'science' is not a noun, it's a verb. I encourage you to be a verb!"

Several awards were presented at the ceremonies. From the Master of Air Mobility program at Fort Dix, Maj Jason Anderson was selected for the Air Force Historical Foundation's General Bruce Poe II Award given to the author of a thesis which is judged to make a significant contribution to an understanding of the historical factors affecting an Air Force or DOD problem, event, or process. Maj Lisa Ryan was selected for the International Society of Logistics Jerome G. Peppers Award given to a member of the graduating class whose academic record and research contributions to the field of logistics are judged to be superior.

Dr. Bradley Liebst, Head of AFIT's Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics presented the Leading Edge Award sponsored by Aerovar Research to Capt Trent Metlen, USMC. This was the inaugural year for the award, established to honor a student whose research developed a breakthrough concept that can enhance the aerospace industry. Capt Metlen's research demonstrated the feasibility of an aerostatic vehicle using a vacuum enclosure to achieve positive buoyancy - a breakthrough that may lead to the development of new types of aerostatic vehicles for tactical applications and a new method of improving lift efficiency for aerostats and airships.

Maj Elwood Waddell won the Dr. James T. Moore Graduate Research Prize Award given to the author of a thesis judged to demonstrate the best application of operations research methodology or theory development to a military problem.

Maj Zachary Hall received the Lieutenant Edwin E. Aldrin Award which recognizes the student who displayed the most exceptional leadership characteristics while in the graduate program.

Maj Bradley Panton received the Louis F. Polk Award sponsored by the National Defense Industrial Association recognizing the student who made an advanced contribution in their professional field promoting the concept of strength through industry and technology.

Maj Christopher Auger won the Mervin E. Gross Award which is presented to the graduating student who demonstrated exceptional academic achievement and high qualities of character, initiative, and leadership while in a master's graduate program.

The mission of AFIT is to advance air, space, and cyberspace power for our armed forces, the Nation, and its partners by providing relevant defense-focused technical graduate and continuing education, research, and consultation. AFIT accomplishes this mission through three resident schools: the Graduate School of Engineering and Management, the School of Systems and Logistics, and the Civil Engineer and Services School. AFIT also manages all Air Force health, line, legal, and chaplain graduate education at civilian institutions.

AFIT Graduate School of Engineering and Management's June 2013 Graduates

Doctor of Philosophy
Major Jeffrey E. Gallagher (Applied Physics)
Mr. Paul L. Hartman (Logistics)
Mr. William B. Kimball (Computer Science)
Ms. Amanda Sue King (Electrical Engineering)
Lieutenant Colonel Suzanna J. McNabb (Nuclear Engineering)
Major Brian J. Neff (Electrical Engineering)

Master of Science (Computer Science)
Mr. Joshua S. Ziegler

Master of Science in Computer Engineering
Mr. William Clarles Barto
Mr. Alan S. Gibson
Capt Julio W. Mueckay

Master of Science (Cyber Operations)
Mr. Stephen James Dunlap
Mr. John Andrew Hearle
Mrs. Heather Lingg
Mr. Jeremy R. Otis
Mr. Brett Andrew Smith

Master of Science in Cyber Warfare
Major Ronald J. Clark
Major Bradley C. Panton
Major Bradley A. Rueter
Major Vanessa C. Weed

Master of Science in Electrical Engineering
Mr. Joshua M. Wilson

Master of Science in Applied Physics
Mr. Ben Eshel
Mr. Eric A. Imhof

Master of Science in Logistics
Major Jason R. Anderson
Major David Bergin
Major Philip N. Broyles
Major Mark A. Chapa
Major Stephen C. Graham
Major Lee D. Hages
Major Zachary G. Hall
Major Theodore A. Langstroth
Major Robert D. McAllister
Major Michael Morales
Major Aaron J. Oelrich
Major Jeremy L. Pankoski
Major Ralph E. Piper II
Major Lisa B. Ryan
Major James L. Siville
Major Marc W. Summers
Major Ryan L. Theiss
Major Mark R. Thomas
Major Steven P. Wick

Master of Science in Operations Analysis
Major John Isacco
Major Adam Simoncic
Major Meghan Szwarc
Major Elwood T. Waddell Jr.

Master of Science in Research and Development Management
First Lieutenant Crystal A. Miller

Master of Science (Systems Engineering)
Captain Earl B. Alejandro
Lieutenant Colonel Lars Baldus (Germany)

Master of Science in Systems Engineering
Major Christopher Auger
Major Andre M. Huscko
Major Brandon L. Miller
Captain Joseph N. Seto
Major Brian K. Yoshimoto

Master of Science (Materials Science)
Second Lieutenant Eric M. Hunt

Master of Science in Aeronautical Engineering
Captain Trent T. Metlen (Marine Corps)

Click for high resolution

Graduate School Home
Graduate School Leadership
About the Graduate School
Faculty Spotlight